Rules of the Blog

Rules of the Blog

The English language is an interesting thing.
Sometimes, new words are added on a whim.
Definitions change; some words are just for show;
But that is what happens as a society grows.

But, here, I wish to explain,
What is bringing us all great pain.
Today, grammar is a scarce thing;
Because of this “texting” thing.

Abbreviations make us forget,
What teachers are trying to make our minds get.
And “like” is not a synonym for “said,”
Using it in that manner makes intelligence seem dead.

On this blog there will be poetry, stories, and reviews,
I hope they will teach you a thing or two.
But this is a place of learning and growth;
So I want you to take an oath.

I swear I will comment and critique with fairness;
I swear I will comment if I have questions.
I swear I will treat people with dignity and respect,
For, if I do not, the comment will be a reject.

Those are the rules, so simple and so few,
Hopefully, they will be enough for you.
Education is important as you shall see,
For strong and empowered you shall be.

About Monria Titans

"Knowledge is power," something that is said all the time. I am trying to LIVE by that and improve myself and I would wish for the world to do the same.

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Empowerment Posts, English Posts, Get To Know Erica! Posts, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m like, why should “like” not be used instead of said? It is not a synonym exactly, it identifies me more closely with what I say. What I say is who I am. It is not a construction I have used before.

    In speech, rather than on a blog, I could say “I’m like” and say whatever it was using the same expression as when I said it in the conversation I am relating. If we are skyping, I could say “I expressed disgust”, or “I’m like, EW!“.

    Onywye. Thanks for the follow, but these things are a matter of relationship. If you comment on my blog, I will come back here.

  1. Pingback: Critiquing Art | Become Empowered

Leave a Reply

